The Importance of Pitch

For years (and those who have met me at book signings know) I have struggled with how to explain my book in a few sentences. It usually takes so long the person has made a decision before I even tell them the good stuff. This has cost me a ton of sales and interest because it shouldn’t take 5 minutes to tell about a book.

This last weekend I attended LTUE both as a presenter and learner. My presentation on Magic Systems went so much better than the nightmares I had before the conference. That is for a later post though. While there I attended a Pitch Workshop because I knew I needed help. Well, we had about 45 minutes and 7 people. What I came up with garnered only a couple of minutes of help. But I was able to help others really hone their pitch. I felt like I was back in poetry critique groups, cutting words and moving things around. It is often referred to as an ‘elevator pitch’ because it should take no longer than the time to ride the elevator between floors.

On the 45 minute drive down to the conference the next day, I realized I had all of the skills to fix my pitch after saying them out loud to the other people. So I started working on my own pitch, repeating to myself the very things I had said the day before and recording each attempt. I found the moderator of our table from the session in the green room that morning and ran it by her. She loved it and another author in the room offered a single point of concern that I fixed right then. In two sentences, I can now pitch Kyle by Fire. Followed by two sentences for Will from Ashes and currently one for Nic of Time. I could finish my pitch to readers on all three books before they could finish reading the back of KbF. The result was amazing.

I brought 10 copies of each book to sell. That may seem low but I have never sold more than five books at any event before and that included the few times people bought both books together. I worried about how much I would have to lug back home. But with my pitch now perfected, I came home with only one copy of WfA because my last sale went to a girl who really wanted my book but only had enough for one of the two. I even sold a set to a fellow author that sat by me for a while and listened to my pitch several times. The pitch worked on him too!

Work on your pitch because it isn’t just to sell your book to an agent or publisher in the elevator. It is how you sell it to readers.

Kyle’s extreme magic level lands him on the hitlist of an anti-magic organization which derails his junior year of high school. When the organization starts attacking his friends and family, Kyle must decide if his life is more important than theirs.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in books, Kyle By Fire, Life the universe and everything, LTUE, novel mage, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

