You Don’t Remember That?

I went to another League of Utah Writers meetings at yet another chapter that isn’t my home and they had a great presentation about deep pov (point of view). But that isn’t what I’m talking about today. And forgive me if I’ve mentioned this before but hey, time happens.

Recently Groundhog Day came upon us. So of course, I watched the movie with Bill Murray because it’s a tradition. Great show. There is a point however, where he seduces Nancy Taylor by asking her questions about her high school one day and the next using that information to make it seem like they had a history.

“I asked you Prom,” Murray proclaims and she buys it because she can’t remember. It was PROM! How do you forget who you went to high school dances with? This scene always bothered me because I just couldn’t believe it.

Then two summers ago, I had my 20th high school reunion. Yes, long time. As part of that, I organized a Family in the Park afternoon. Those of us who went to school together stood in a circular fashion talking and I mentioned going to a dance with one of the women standing there. She gave me the same look Nancy gave Bill. THE SAME LOOK! She didn’t remember! Even after I told her what we did and what she wore, the same blank “I honestly don’t remember that” face. Wow.

And so here is my writing tip for the day: Not everyone remembers the same. Some of us are apparently forgettable. So as you write, you may have a detailed history for your characters but keep in mind, that they may not remember everything you’ve written down for them and THAT can lead to great story elements.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in books, fiction, mage, novel mage, novels, school, story, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

