Will’s House Floorplan

As promised before the Christmas insanity of family and events and presents and general laziness, here is the second floor plan. This is Will’s house. Making this floor plan brought things into focus for me. I modeled Kyle’s house after the house of a friend of mine from junior high and high school. Keeping the layout clear in my mind was easy.

As I started matching the layout of Will’s house to the books, I realized that what I saw in my head for the first floor and second floor didn’t match up. What did I do? I changed things in books. Since I’m planning on a new edition for books 1 & 2 when I release 3, this isn’t a big deal. It ultimately results in only a few minor tweaks in those stories that doesn’t change the actual story.

The bonus to doing this came when I realized that I didn’t know which way Will’s house faced! In book 2, I had it facing both east and west. That doesn’t actually work out if you’re wondering.

You can lose your readers if your details aren’t right. And for those that have read, welcome home.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in books, eBooks, fiction, novel mage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

