Once bitten, 2nd time catatonic

I had a great book. A fun story finally finished after 3 years of hard work. I sent it out to the world with confidence and enthusiasm. Then I put out the 2nd edition. Just a few tweaks, spelling and such. Then the 3rd. The 4th. Finally, the 5th and I washed my hands of it until/if a publisher picked it up. I’m getting ready to put out the 6th edition. A publisher came back with a “Revise and Resubmit” request. I did and am still waiting. Their suggestions were fantastic and some were already there, I just didn’t know it so they didn’t get called out.

Nobody beta-read book one but my 11 year old daughter with lots of books-read under her belt but no training or experience in writing. Hence the tons of revisions post publishing. I vowed book 2, Will from Ashes, would not follow the same route. After all, I wasn’t the same writer. I’d attended actual writing classes and conferences. I’d become more aware and careful. I’d hob-nobbed with successful writers, taught writing classes. I had two rounds of beta-readers go over the manuscript and the last one has returned her notes to me. I’m going through them now.

And yet, the thought of actually publishing the book scares me to no end. I don’t want to do to Will what I did to Kyle. I’m petrified of more editions and blatant errors that somehow might have been missed. I have people begging for it (literally) and that adds pressure that makes me sick to my stomach.

I’d love any advice on how to overcome the fear because right now…

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in books, eBooks, fiction, Kyle By Fire, novel mage, novels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

