Delay of Game

Well, that was unexpected. I’m in the middle of beta 2 on Will from Ashes when out of nowhere comes an email from a publisher that I had queried…a while ago. They liked Kyle by Fire but they had a few revision requests. Amazingly, nothing massive or terribly story altering. A couple of them, I could see how they would make the story better. They gave me a timeline of 4-5 weeks to revise and resubmit.

I know this no guarantee of getting published but I like where some of these changes are taking me and overall they help KBF be a better story so that maybe in the future some publisher will accept it. However, after asking my writer and editor friends about receiving a letter like this, they were all very optimistic. What?

To be honest, this was only the second query I had ever done. The first one I didn’t even have a query letter for. Their rejection was that they weren’t looking for any books in MiddleGrade fantasy at that time. So, my first real query and I get a nibble! Very excited. Might not be posting for the next 3 weeks or so trying to get these revisions done.

And WFA has been delayed for the same reasons. No worries though. I’m still planning on a February release. For fun, here is WFA’s cover!

Will cover Version 3

 

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in books, fiction, Kyle By Fire, mage, novel mage, prose, story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

