Don’t Keep Walking!

WARNING: Major Star Wars Spoilers included. You have been warned.

First, I want to thank all of my Canadian readers. You rock!

Ok, on to Star Wars. After seeing the film three times, I still love it. And Han’s fate still affects me. Perhaps it is because I’m author that I picked up on it but the foreshadowing of Han Solo’s death while subtle was also very clear.

First reveal, Kylo Ren is Han and Leia’s son! Kylo’s response to Supreme Leader Snoke: “He means nothing to me.” Yet you feel and Snoke recognizes that that statement is not entirely true. Kylo does as well and says something to the effect that with Snoke’s help, it will be true.

Leia and Han reconcile and finally come to an understanding about what happened with their son. Before heading off on the dangerous mission, Leia begs Han to bring Kylo Ren home if he sees him. The powerful plea of a mother to her husband. Save our child. Like never before, Han wants to fulfill Leia’s wish. To be a family again.

Now we come to the final scene in Han’s story. Han sees Ren and the look on his face tells you he is thinking of Leia’s petition: bring him home. He makes a decision and calls out to his son. Han could have run, could have shot him…lots of options but his love for Leia and his trust in her that there is good in Ren propels him to confrontation. He gets Ren to take off his mask, reminding him of their relationship, of the conflict inside and that there is good in him.

And then I saw it. Han is walking closer to Ren and in my mind I’m screaming, “Don’t get any closer! He’ll kill you with his lightsaber!” The first time I saw it, even though I wanted to not believe it, I knew Han was a dead man. But he didn’t. He believed he could do it. He believed if he could just be close to his son, the light would win.

Then the light goes out. Literally. The sun has finished being consumed and Ren gives completely in to the dark side. He tells Han he is going to kill him. “I know what I need to do but I don’t know if I have the strength to do it.” “I’m tired of the pain.”

Then the light saber appears out of Han’s back and my brain says, “Told you so.” With each viewing this all became more and more clear. And that is why it affected me more each time. I think Han knows on some level this isn’t going to end well. Yet he tries anyway. He tries for a wife he hasn’t seen in years. He tries for a son that is probably already gone. He tries for himself to wipe out his feelings of inadequacies as a father. He did not do but he tried.

Good-bye you scruffy-looking nerfherder. Your journey has ended.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in novel mage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

