Now There is a Boy.

Boys like girls and girls like boys. It is the way of things. When they are young, it’s cute to see a crush. When my five-year old made hand hearts at the cute three-year old two benches in front of us at church, my wife and I laughed to each other. However, Gretel is now fourteen (almost fifteen) and there is a boy. As a father cute has taken on a very protective demeanor.

While allowing Gretel to use the computer for some school work last night, I looked over and noticed a copious amount of emails from one particular boy. This boy had his own folder in Gretel’s email. No, I wasn’t spying, I was being a responsible parent who fully understands that in this day and age, privacy is a pipe dream like fairies, unicorns and honest politicians. Too many children have been lured away by men on the internet and end up a still picture on the news. I snoop because I care. Plus, Gretel doesn’t actually know the password to her email. I do. She knows that at any time I can check her email and her Facebook. These were stipulations made upon creating the accounts. Terms were spelled out and agreed to.

Thus the grilling began. How do you know him? What is he like? Do you like him as more than a friend? Have you informed him of all of the horrible things I might do to him if he breaks your heart or tries to compromise your morality? Ok, I didn’t actually ask that last question but I wanted to. I had hoped that due to her intelligence and quirky personality I could avoid the whole boy thing until she was at least a junior. But Gretel is pretty dang cute and despite her moodiness, does have a rather adorable personality. Only time will tell if I need to start building medieval torture devices in my garage. Until then, focusing on writing may be a little more difficult. I’ll try my best.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in novel mage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

