Feedback Should be Selectively Eaten

With my first novel out the door and available for public consumption, it is also available for public opinion.  No Harry is NOT going to marry Hermione.  But as feedback has been heaped upon my plate to consume, I’ve learned to take small bites and be a picky eater.

To those who know me, when it comes to real food, I don’t take small bites and I’m not picky.  I have learned quickly that my writing cannot be done the same way.  Some people have good ideas.  Some people don’t know a plot hole from a fire hydrant.  The worst people though, have some good and some not-so-good suggestions.  They are the dangerous ones.  Because if you let them know you took one suggestion, it tends to make them feel like ALL of their suggestions are equally awesome and you will be doing them all.  

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.  But that opinion does not the best story make.  I have recently received some of that feedback.  The intention was good.  The person wanted to be helpful but I could not do what he wanted without violating the characters and world I had created.  Many experienced authors will tell you that one thing you can do to kill your book is create rules and expectations for your world and then violate them.  So don’t do it!  Stay true to your story and you will find that it either isn’t a good story to tell or that other options present themselves.  This is what I did.  I’m very happy about doing so.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in novel mage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

