When life gives you flying monkeys

My daughter is in the middle school musical.  She is a munchkin/Ozian in “The Wizard of Oz”.  I couldn’t be more proud.  In my life before marriage, responsibility and family, I was an ACTOR (said in snooty British accent)!  Chip off the old block…sort of.  She lacks my flare.  My insanity.  Not necessarily a bad thing.  But still.  She is also my best sounding board.  Sure her ideas are those of a young teenager who has read more books than I probably ever will (I get a lot of my reading list from her), but just talking out loud through some of the things I am currently struggling with helps.  You know, like my last blog post that inspired me mid-writing.  

My advice today is to find a sounding board.  Whether it’s a spouse, significant other, friend, child, just find one.  Sure your ideas sound great bouncing around in your head, but as soon as you vocalize them, you find the ones that are both gems and junk.  Plus, the facial expression of your sounding board can be just as valuable as anything they might say.  I honed a few concepts, expanded on some vague plot points and overall got more confidence and excitement about where my story is going.  She also pointed out that my climax wasn’t.  Wow.  Spot on.  It stunk.  I hadn’t even considered that.  Now it will be better.  Tell someone your story out-loud today so tomorrow it will be awesome!

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in novel mage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

