Life can create epic failures

Priorities are a shifting landscape in the life of a part-time author, full-time employee, father, husband. This year NaNoWriMo chalked up less than 10k words. It could have been more but stresses coming from other parts of my life killed my inspiration, motivation and creativity. I was very excited and motivated for my kickstarter when I got it going. However, as time has gone on, I’ve realized, I don’t network enough. I don’t have the kinds of friends who do that. With only seven days left and only two pledges (one of them being my mom), it’s not looking good. Life has created two more epic failures.

Now why does this bother me? I’ve failed lots before. It doesn’t really surprise me that I have managed it yet again. But I’ve been riding a couple of highs that I guess are fizzling. I graduated from college a year and a half ago with a 3.85 GPA. I haven’t done that well in school since….ever! I finished my book, cover-to-cover after 3 years of off and on writing.  For a bona fide poet who really stunk at prose in high school, an almost 400 page book is freaking awesome. I got laid off and found a better job. Lots better.  

So back to earth I come with incredible speed and unable to pull out of the dive.  Crash is imminent.  Thus I’m resigning myself to my fate. The book will publish as is, which really is good, I just wanted the best.  The cover will be my doing so…..yeah, can’t say the same there. My vision and artistic ability do not mesh well. The bright side is that what I did write for NaNoWriMo, helped me define the world and add a few important details into Kyle By Fire before it publishes.  And I’ve gotten a some fun ideas in the last few days that may change things down the road.  

So when your life doesn’t turn out how you want, just remember that sometimes life just turns out.  My battle-cry as of late has been a couple of lines from Disney movies, “Keep moving forward” and “You have to put your behind in your past.”  I teach it to my kids to help them handle life’s disappointments.  It’s easier to do with things that don’t mean as much.  But when your dreams plummet in a fiery ball and make a glorious explosion on the horizon, take time to flop in the mud, bury your face in your hands and cry.  Then stand up, put one foot in front of the other and perhaps you will “find a new dream.”

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in novel mage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

