They call me Ghost Writer.

I’ve probably blogged about this before because, well, it’s a common problem I face. You might call it writer’s block. I don’t. I knew what to write. I have an outline. I call it the ghost. Inside my head is a hazy picture of what I want to happen in the story. I can make out little details here and there but forming the whole concept into something solid is where the challenge comes in. This ghost haunts me. I open up the Word doc and stare at the page as the ghost drifts back and forth over my mental ocular senses. I start back at the beginning in hopes of the ghost solidifying more by the time I get to where it needs to be on the page. Sadly, this approach has failed me.

So yesterday I did what I knew I needed to do. I did what NaNoWriMo teaches. I just wrote. I grabbed the vaporous ghost floating in my head and thrust him onto the page. The argument, that hopefully will fill most of the chapter, came out exactly as a ghost should with those few details and hardly much else. 3 pages is all it amounted to in print. But the ghost is dead.

The reason you need to just write is to stop the haunting. Once the words are on the page they turn from this ghost into clay. You now have something solid, tangible as it were, to mess with. You can mold, shape, expand with those few details finally on the page. I knew this. This method is how Kyle By Fire got completed. I just needed to do it. And yesterday I did. I won’t call it freedom because I know more ghosts are waiting but for now, the one that has been haunting me for weeks is dead.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in novel mage and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

