Has it really been so long?

The sorceress Drazelle utters those words in the movie Willow when she finally gets to see herself in human form again. I feel slightly like that as I come back here to my bloggy home. Lots has happened which really shouldn’t have kept me away but it did. I blog when I think about writing but can’t commit tons of time to my novels and no poetry is crying to come out. Yes, blogging is the poetry of the novelist.

Anyway, I found myself unemployed suddenly and thankfully for only a few weeks. We went back to Disneyland to keep our word to our kids when I started school 5 years ago. I haven’t looked at my book in almost a month. Stress is not a creative motivator for me. Today I printed a copy for my daughter to read since it apparently has been a while since she looked at it as well. This brought me back to the whole title issue. What a dilemma! It carried the title of The Oak Wand for years. The new title works but has never felt quite right to me. Well, it did one crazy day but I’ve struggle since. The problem is that if I’m going to make the series The Oak Wand series, then I still need a subtitle for book one. And if that is the series name then that wand better have some serious significance….which is where I run into the problem. I believe I know the end of the trilogy or at least the idea that brings us to the end. The wand doesn’t really fit into it. Oy do I need an editor.

As I sit here ideas are swirling again. *sigh* I said I would release it in May and perhaps I still shall. I guess it will be a surprise for everybody as to what title finally ends up on the cover.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in eBooks, fiction, inspiration, mage, novel mage, novels, oak wand, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

