When things are going well

I have an outline. It’s not very detailed, mostly a sentence or two about an entire chapter. But as I finally finished a chapter that ended differently than I planned thanks to my daughter and wife, I realized that how I envisioned starting the next chapter was also going to be different.

For those who have never written, there is a thing called ‘flow’. Once you get into the ‘flow’, sometimes your writing goes in different directions because what you mocked up outside of the ‘flow’ doesn’t mesh with what happens naturally in the course of becoming immersed in your characters and situation.

With that in mind, I had ideas outside of the ‘flow’ for what the next chapter was going to start like. But as I got into the ‘flow’ and finished the chapter, the first line of the next chapter, “He heard them before he saw them.” popped into my head. Wow. Bumpy ride and things got worked up, you hit the climax and I’m not going to let you come down. I’m not sure how I feel about that. The craziness of the thought brought me out of the ‘flow’ and I’ve struggle with the idea ever since. However, I know that since I was mentally and emotionally engaged in the story, it’s the right direction to go. So hold on, things were going well but the ride isn’t over.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in novel mage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

