Happy Quiggle Day!

If you know any quiggles be sure to give them a macaroni and cheese sandwich on their day.  They do so love those macaroni and cheese sandwiches. 

In writing news, I have managed 8 pages over the last week.  And I have suddenly come to a conclusion that will probably involve adding a lot of detail to my book.  I finished Maze Runner by James Dashner over the weekend.  It’s gritty, suspenseful and tragic.  After 2 years of LTUE, I’m finally getting around to reading a bunch of the books I’ve heard mentioned there.  It suddenly dawned on me that while I can see these places (the hardware store, the school, Kyle’s house) in my head, no one else can.  I’m afraid I don’t do a good job of describing these settings because they aren’t new to the character.  In so many books that I can think of/have read lately, the main characters are taken out of their normal environment into something new.  And being somewhere new, they take in and describe all of their surroundings. 

This is a problem I hadn’t recognized before.  So I’m going to sit down soon and draw some rough sketches of these places and then do a re-read to find where it makes sense to include more detail to bring my reader into my head so they can enjoy the story I’m writing.  Not that it isn’t enjoyable without the detail, but since I’m trying to drag you so far in that when you come out it’s 2 AM and you didn’t even realize it, I think it needs this.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in novel mage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

