Managing aspirations

I graduated today in a degree very different from writing.  But still, four years of homework guilt has come to an end.  I walked, got an empty diploma case and got dinner from my parents.  And I sit here listening to my three youngest color at the kitchen table while the older two play Battleship.  I’m not thinking about due dates or papers or dreading anything.  I had a dream that when this time came, I would write.  I would finally finish this novel that is in its third year of effort.  I would make more progress on my screen play.  Yet, I’m blogging because too much of me is full of good food and too little of me is motivated to write.  What happened?? 

So my advice now is to manage your aspirations.  Sure it has only been a week since I had no homework to do and I still have a yard to work on, but I thought I would be going full-boar at this point.  I want to spend time with my kids.  I want to spend time with my wife.  I guess writing will come in its due time.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in break, college, fiction, novel mage, novels, oak wand, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

