Inspiration on a tuna sandwich

The following post was feared lost in the dark reaches of dead bits and cyberspace.  Which prompted the spilled milk post.  But WordPress saved it as a draft off in some other pasture and I found it waiting for me when I logged in.  So much was my joy, I ate a cookie, then felt guilty so I ate another one to soothe my soul.  Without further ado:

Now don’t get me wrong, tuna sandwiches are not particularly inspiring, unless you’re craving that kind of thing.  But my point is that sometimes, we find inspiration in the most unlikely of places.  My poetry has been most affected by these random sources of inspiration.  However, my current novel took off from a short story into a full-blown adventure because of such unlikely inspiration.

We started a round-robin with the writing group I was in.  We had drawn three or four words randomly from a big list we put in a hat and were to write about 2 pages before the meeting the next month.  When that meeting came, I quickly jotted out a little over a page IN the meeting and swapped.  Then we swapped again and finally my story came back to me.  The dialog was not great and the situation seemed so improbable.  I sat there and wondered how on earth I could make this story work.  Then inspiration struck.  The situation WAS improbable as presented.  But could it be made into a probable situation?  What possibly would make one of the most popular girls in the grade suddenly ask the biggest nerd for help?  How could that happen in a way that seemed plausible and not hokey or very stupid?  Over 100 pages and 7 chapters later, I’m slowly revealing the answer.

They say “Don’t look a gift horse in the mouth.”  But if they had looked in the mouth, they would have seen the enemy sitting there.  Look everywhere because you never know where your next idea will come from.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in books, fiction, inspiration, mage, meeting, memories, novel mage, oak wand, poetry, story, writing, writing club. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspiration on a tuna sandwich

  1. Momina Mela says:

    the title reminded me of the first piece I published on my blog called ‘the ego of cheesecake’. I totally understand what you mean by gaining inspiration from the smallest of things, that is exactly what I try to reflect in my writing as well. Good post!

Leave a Reply

