Directional Drift

Writing club is coming.  No, I have not been terribly active in it.  Yes, I like the idea but school and slowly getting re-acquainted with my family are higher priorities right now.  But our fearless leader told me they are starting a round-robin again.  I can’t miss that.  The first round-robin got me started on my novel.  Who knew that hastily pounding out a little over a page DURING the meeting we were supposed to have it done would turn into quite possibly the best writing I’ve ever done?

So what am I doing this time?  Well, I’ve found that now I’m getting story ideas like I used to get poetry.  They just begin flowing into my head.  Granted, with poetry I could have a finished product in thirty minutes but I find now that the ideas are not fleshed out.  They still come in flashes of images, blips of description without any obvious direction.  So it is with book one of The Phoenix Cycle.  I’ve created a world, a setting, a character, conflict and have absolutely no idea where it’s going.  During the first RR, one of the writer’s proposed a ridiculous situation in my story.  The dialogue was campy and awkward.  But I wondered what could possibly make that situation believable?  How could I make people believe this would happen and care about whether it works?

I’m hoping to find that same bit of inspiration this time around.  I’m not expecting to come away with a fabulous story already written for me.  But I do hope to find that gem of direction that will map the path of the main character and save him from my current directional drift.

This is the Novel Mage saying, *POOF* 

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

