In The Beginning…

And so it was that I attended LTUE (Life, the Universe and Everything) conference at BYU for the first time. Of course it’s the first year they require payment as well. Awesome. Anyway, I’m glad I went because I learned so much and had a great time. I got to meet published authors, get great advice and suggestions and come home and realize I’ve written a lot of crap.

Ok, so it’s not all crap. But I do have one short story that I wrote in high school for a girl I liked. Then I revised it around 8-9 years after that. I’ve poked at it now and again since but not really looked at it in at least a year. So for the first time I’m looking at it with the eyes of someone who has become a much better prose writer and wow. It totally sucked. So I sighed at my suckiness and opened a new Word doc and started writing. I like the story. It’s a short story but it is my very original idea and it’s been through several re-writes making the plot better. Now it’s finally getting written better.

One other thing that was suggested to me was to self-publish my poetry book. I have tons of poetry just hanging around and I did, at one time, compile a bunch into a book format. So I think that sometime soon, I will revisit that as well and hopefully by next LTUE, I’ll have a poetry book that is self-published and available to the public. I hope someone NOT related to me will want a copy.

Until then, this is the Novel Mage saying *POOF*

About markminson

Mark Minson lives in Salt Lake City, Utah. He enjoys playing games with his wife and five kids. He loves to sing and can often be found whistling as he walks. An avid shoe-wearer, you might run into him strolling down memory lane -- either his or somebody else’s. He brings humor to life through his many accents and movie quotes. He found his magic long ago, in a high school far, far away and now happily shares it with you. May you find your magic and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Life the universe and everything, LTUE, novels, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

